My favourite drugstore, affordable makeup.

I am absolutely sick of watching makeup tutorials and reading blog posts on ‘how to achieve this makeup look’ that only include high end and very expensive products. I come from a little village in the North East of England and moneys tight around here, I am currently an unemployed student who can hardly afford the bloody bus fare never mind Chanel or Dior makeup products.

Boots is my go to for makeup and I do tend to stick to what I know in there. I buy a lot of makeup products from the same brands and repurchase products that I like and I want to be more adventurous but that’s hard to do when you don’t have the money to risk it. I decided to show you some of my favourite (and good value for money) products from the drugstores for anyone who may be in a similar situation to me and needs to have faith in a product before spending, enjoy 🙂

*ALL PRODUCTS £10 OR UNDER* WOOO

img_48921

Rimmel London wake me up concealer £5.49, L’Oreal Paris true match foundation £9.99

These two products are my holy grail!! Although I rarely wear foundation now (because foundation + travelling on public transport + sixth form etc doesn’t mix well with foundation for me), I always wear this concealer when I leave the house. Both are super easy to blend and have good, medium wear coverage. The concealer is extremely good for dark circles and blemishes, its by far my most repurchased makeup product, I can’t imagine me loving another any more than I love this. The foundation is a great base for makeup and feels super light so you barely even realise its there but still gives good coverage.

IMG_4893[1].JPG

Rimmel London stay matte pressed powder £3.99

This is by far the best drugstore powder I’ve ever tested, again it is one of my most repurchased products. This powder is enough on its own to give a light to medium coverage but I mainly use it to set foundation and concealer, paired with these it gives your skin a really velvety feel and very rarely needs topped up, it lasts me all day at sixth form.

img_48941

Rimmel London lasting finish soft colour blush 020 pink rose £3.99, Maybelline master sculpt 02 medium/ dark £6.99

I use this for blush and contour on my cheek bones. What I love about these products is how long they last. I’ve had both for over a year and used both almost every day, both still have loads of product left and have really nice colours. The blush is a beautiful colour and is nicely pigmented so that a little goes a long way. The contour is super easy to use andd very little product is needed to give a good effect (seriously only use a little, its super pigmented!!). Overall, I would recommend these 100% especially for beginners as they are so super easy to use.

img_48951

Maybelline baby skin instant pore eraser primer £7.99

Apologies for the bad picture, I thought it was in focus. This is amazing, like the others it lasts super long. I’ve been using this one since June and there’s still a long way to go, and this is used every day. Sometimes I use this with no other makeup to even out my skin and get rid of pores, it does far more than that. It makes my skin look and feel flawless and is an amazing base for foundation, my makeup lasts all day with this on. For a cheaper product this works wonders.

img_48961

Rimmel London brow this way eyebrow gel £3.99, Soap and Glory brow archery £10

These products are my go to for my eyebrows, both are super easy to use and give long lasting results. I apply the brow archery first, I use the pencil side of it first, filling any sparse areas of my eyebrows and giving a faint outline to them. I then use the felt tip/ tint side to draw the ends of my eyebrows, elongating them slightly and giving them a more precise finish. This is my favourite eyebrow product, my only concern is that the felt tip end can dry out easily so it doesn’t last quite as long as other products. I use brow this way afterwards to smooth down any rogue hairs and neaten them up slightly, some days this is needed more than others.

IMG_4897[1].JPGMaybelline lash sensational mascara £7.99 , Soap and Glory supercat eyeliner £6

I was genuinely surprised when I first tried this mascara, I didn’t think it would work very well at all but it works incredibly well and I prefer it other high end mascaras that I’ve tried in the past. Lots of volume, length and it doesn’t lose its shape throughout the day. The eyeliner is a felt tip, mainly because I’m useless at applying it and gen liners are my worst nightmare. This is really easy to apply (even I can do it and I’m useless!) It may take me a while to even out because of my jittery hands but the product itself is amazing and good quality for money, well worth the investment.

img_48981

No7 eyeshadow palette £10

Unfortunately this doesn’t have a specific product title so i don’t know exactly what it’s called but the No7 eyeshadows have great pigmentation and are super easy to blend so I recommend them all anyways. This specific palette was a gift for Christmas and with it creeping up to us once again I’ve whipped this back out and the warm colours and shimmer is appearing once again. I love this palette a lot so if you find any similar please let me know! This is a really nice alternative to the really expensive ones from places like Urban Decay and probable better quality for money.

img_48991

Rimmel London lasting finish by Kate Moss 107 £5.49 , Bourjois Rouge edition velvet 10 don’t pink of it £8.99

107 is a really nice dark red lip especially for Autumn and Winter, I love it for a night out or a day in town with friends. It is a little drying so chapstick should be applied before and after wearing it but the colour is lovely and lasts a long time, definitely worth trying out. The Bourjois liquid lipstick is amazing, the colour is a super subtle pink and the product itself leaves your lips feeling super velvety and soft, no chapstick needed (in fact I think I used this as chapstick one time when I was desperate!) Both are lovely colours and products which in the future, I hope to try more shades of. For sure worth the money, both are pretty cheap.

Hope you enjoyed this, if you try any out or have any other suggestions please leave a comment below, as I said before, all products mentioned for £10 or less and are all great quality so if you’re not sure whether or not to try some of this stuff out, I say go for it!

Till next time,

Abby x

Follow me on social media:

Twitter- abbywaugh_

Instagram- abbywaughh

Snapchat- abbywaughx

Leave a Reply

