Being Different.

So here’s the thing with me… I’m not like everyone else.

I’m not an outcast, I have friends, I go to school, I have a social life and most importantly I’m happy (little stressed and overwhelmed but happy nevertheless).

I’m not stereotyping people my age by any means but as a 17 year old I feel like my interests don’t lie with my demographics. By this I mean I don’t get drunk, I don’t party through the night, I don’t get in to clubs underage and I don’t use drugs.

I feel like nowadays, this is how you make friends. Of course it is, it gives you a subject to talk about and laugh about but it kinda just makes me feel uncomfortable. I couldn’t imagine myself at house parties getting drunk with people from school and doing stuff that I probably shouldn’t be doing, ever. It’s just not my scene, not my thing. It also differentiates me from most of my family, they get drunk and are always trying to force it down my neck when ever there’s a family event and for some reason they just don’t understand that I don’t want it.

I’m not against drinking, or getting drunk for that matter but for me it’ll come in its own time. I’m not going to drink my life away I mean its not even legal for me to at this age anyways. Does this make me a loser because I’m following the law, am I a loser because I don’t want to do stuff that makes me uncomfortable? Apparently so.

I’ve never understood the fascination with alcohol to be honest, maybe that’ll change when I go to university but I can function well enough without it and I will be until I feel ready to change, even if it means making myself stand out at every family event for the next year. I just don’t like it when someone offers me a drink, I feel guilty, I don’t know if I want it or am allowed it, it stresses me out and makes me really anxious and so I look ridiculous standing then stressing and sweating in front of whoever it is trying to pressure me in to it.

I don’t have many friends that are in to that sort of life either. We aren’t addicted to the sesh and we don’t try to get into clubs underage, that doesn’t mean we’re prude or stuck up it just means its not our comfort zone  and we would rather not be there.  Who knows if that will change later in my life, this time next year I’ll have hopefully survived freshers week and will most likely be at clubs with my new friends but for now I’m just trying to enjoy my last year of my childhood (even though I couldn’t feel more like a granny right now).

I would love to go to festivals and clubs and have a great social life but that time is not right now and I’m a firm believer of waiting until you know the time is right, because you always know whats best for yourself. For now I’ll carry on daydreaming about my aspirations and getting excited for my turnaround in the coming year.

Don’t feel pressured into drinking or the use of drugs, trust me its better to sacrifice the losers who pressure you and sacrifice being popular or whatever the pressure is. If you aren’t comfortable with something then remove yourself from the situation no matter what the consequences are because no one deserves to be forced in to any situation that they don’t want to be in. You knows what’s best for yourself and if that makes you different well then… join the fucking club.

Hope you enjoyed this post, I’m currently planning more. As always I’d love feedback.

Till next time,

Abby x

Follow me on social media:

Twitter- abbywaugh_

Instagram- abbywaughh

Snapchat- abbywaughx

Leave a Reply

