Uncategorized

A little University talk

Monday 4th July,

Dear Diary,

Let’s start with an update. First things first (I’m the realest), I finish my first year of sixth form on Thursday. That’s 3 DAYS WHATT!!! I honestly still feel 12 years old no way do I only have one year of education left. Its been a crazy year and in 2 weeks time I will be writing a post on everything I have learnt from my first year there, so look forward to that. Secondly, I have over 100 followers WOW thank you. That’s amazing I couldn’t have asked for more. Thirdly, and for me the most exciting, I WILL be starting my own YouTube channel! I will be uploading on a Saturday at around 7pm from the 16th July so head on over and subscribe please, I will sub back of course. I have literally wanted to do this since 2012 and so any support is greatly appreciated. Last;y, this summer is a summer of change. Starting from this Friday, I am going to live a much more healthy lifestyle and hopefully shift some unwanted weight. I will be recording my progress through this blog and hope to be a transformed person by the end of the summer. Now onto the actual post…

So I am now at the end of my AS to A2 transition weeks (the time between the first year and summer where we are introduced to the second year of sixth form- which is intense). Throughout these 4 weeks I have been bombarded with coursework and content for next years exams and its driving me crazy. I have had to complete an application to do an EPQ (Extended Project Qualification) which just requires more work and I’ve already had to write my first draft of my personal statement for university (OMG). I have applied for UCAS and shortlisted my universites and courses that I’m applying for, that’s terrifying!

Writing my personal statement was tough because you have to think about yourself and what makes you so great. All fun and games until you realise you’re a boring nerd who’s talents include: Finishing an entire season on netflix in one sitting, eating a whole tub of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream in one sitting and being able to cry on demand. Actually not on demand, or by choice, just all the time. hahhahah i’m kidding (a little).

I actually ended up asking for help with my first paragraph, seen as the furthest I could get was writing my name. Once I was past the dreaded first paragraph I was on a roll. The maximum was 4,000 characters and mine is near 5,000. Good luck future me on cutting that down. I had too much to write about ans my fingers actually ached from typing so fast. As the woman in the UCAS video says “no one knows you better than you do”, so write everything you can think of, even if you thing you’re the most boring person in the planet, some one else won’t. There’s always someone who finds you captivating even if its only your mam, so ask around and find out why you’re interesting! You’ll probably get some amazing answers.

If you are going into your last year of sixth form and are in the same position as me, leave a comment or message me on any of my social media that I’ll leave at the bottom of the page. Also if you are currently going to or at university (especially Leeds, Sunderland, York St.John or Newcastle) let me know what its like because maybe it’ll calm me down a bit. I’d love to hear whats happening at your schools or universities/colleges wherever you are in the world so don’t be a stranger!

Sorry for the crappy post this week but I’m suffering with hayfever (a petty illness i know but I get it really bad okay!) so I’m not feeling great and I’ve typed this whole post with a “I’M GONNA SNEEZE” face which I’m sure you all know of and my head hurts so goodnight and till next time,

Abby x

MY SOCIAL MEDIA:

YouTubeAbby Waugh- ohdearydiaries

Twitter:  @abbywaugh_

Instagram@abbywaughh

Snapchat: abbywaughx

*Facebook coming soon*

6 thoughts on “A little University talk”

  1. I’m actually in the same position but I start mine when I go back to college in September(dreading it), I’ve visited Manchester metropolition uni and hull but really not sure where I want to go yet!
    Would love if you could follow me back? Emmajaneswann.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just finished my final year of university and it’s so sad, it goes so quickly! You’ll love it, it’s so fun and the learning part is also good.. aha. I’d love to go back in time and be at the stage you’re at again but alas, I guess it’s time to sort my life out..

    Good luck for completing your A levels, and I hope you get into your top university choice! (I also do a few posts on my blog about advice for uni so if you’re a little terrified it may reassure you aha.

    http://www.chloechats.com

    xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

