Uncategorized

Meeting YouTubers – My Experience

Monday 27th June 2016

Dear Diary,

So over the past 4 years I have been watching YouTube religiously, more than TV! I started by watching pranksters such as the Janoskians (a personal fave) and then moved on to the likes of O2l and Joe Sugg in the later years. I think YouTube is amazing and the entertainment creators have made themselves a part of a new internet generation that really have changed the world and the media within it. I would LOVE to start a YouTube channel, I’ve wanted to for years and if I can get permission, I would love to start this Summer. The most amazing thing is getting to meet some of your favourite creators and be able to tell them how they’ve affected your life. I’ve been lucky enough to see some of my favourite YouTubers in person and I will continue to meet more in the future when possible. Yes they may not be able to sing, dance or act (some of them can though) but they can still make an audience laugh, cry and feel all the feels with their videos, that’s why they are unique and I love them for it, although I don’t think my parents will ever understand it.

I have been lucky enough to meet Colleen Ballinger (Miranda Sings), Rachel Ballinger, Caspar Lee, Kian Lawley and Jc Caylen. I also saw the Janoskians (ahhhh my faves) live even though the meet and greet tickets were sold out, I thought I would share my experiences.

November 14th 2014, Miranda Sings concert and meet and greet:

The concert was amazing and hilarious, I “felt all of the feels” hahaha. I met Colleen after the show, woh dressed as Miranda and posed for  pictures as Miranda also. It was ages ago but I still remember our hug and her telling me “OMG this is the best hug ever!!” I mean she probably says that to everyone but it made it such a special experience. Her sister Rachel ( also a great YouTuber) took the pictures and afterwards I asked her for a picture also because I am a huge fan of both of their channels, she was happy to do so and I got a lovely hug from her too. Both of the Ballinger sisters were amazing, polite and great huggers so I would defiantly recommend meeting them if you have the chance. If I remember correctly, the tickets weren’t too expensive either, worth the pennies!

September 3rd 2015, Janoskians Jahoo Jahaa tour show:

As I said before, I couldn’t get meet and greet tickets for this show, which I was devastated about because as I also said, I’d been a fan for years but I was still so grateful that I got to see them live. The show was hilarious full of excitement and laughter along with some great tunes. Not gonna lie, I cried when they came on stage because I was so overwhelmed and I literally lost my voice for a week after the concert. My friend had to calm me down various times during the show because I couldn’t believe that they were actually in the same room as me…. cringe but I loved it! We had tickets to sit up on the balcony but as we went into the venue, we were told that it was closed so we ran to get the best view possible, and we did have a great view. Too bad it looked crap on pictures hahaha. Overall it was an amazing night, perhaps the best night of my life. It’s just a shame that they aren’t what they used to be, I’m glad I got to see James with them.

June 2nd 2016, meeting Caspar Lee at his book signing:

I WAS SO EXCITED!! Caspar is one of my favourite ever YouTubers and so when I found out that he was coming to Gateshead, I knew I had to get tickets. I went with the same friend who I saw the Janoskians with and she was equally as excited. They really did make it personal even though you only had time for a very brief conversation. You got a copy of his book which his mam Emily signed first, she wrote your name on the book as well which was a nice personal touch that I loved. You then got it signed by Caspar who knew your name from the book. He was able to take pictures and have a conversation with everyone even though there was hundreds of people there. He was lovely and I got the best hug from him, we posed for a picture as well but the stupid lady taking the pictures didn’t take it. Not gonna lie that annoyed me a lot but I’m still so grateful that I got to meet him and got a hug, even if there is no proof of that happening. He was so lovely and it’s a moment that I’ll never forget.

June 18th 2016, Kian and Jc’s don’t try this at home tour plus meet and greet:

Me and my friend Maddie (who I’ve mentioned before in my first post) are obsessed with these two boys so when we found out they were coming here we got tickets straight away and upgraded to VIP as soon as they came out! We met them before the show and it was amazing. Me and Maddie went in together and we videoed eachother meeting them. They are just like they are in their videos, weird, funny but also really sweet guys. They made it personal by asking us our names and having a proper conversation with us. I was telling them about my birthday which they got really excited about, Jc told me to take a shot on him hahaha. They were lovely when they were giving me hugs (I got 2 hugs from each woops idec) and they were really cute and huggy. They cuddled me in like a little teddy and although I was quite shy when meeting them, they made me feel comfortable and kept me close to them, it was lovely! The show was amazing, we got to see Harrison Ford as well and a music group named Taken (who are really good, check them out!) . Again, one of the best nights of my life although I did nearly witness Jc break his neck when he didn’t land his backflip ( I got a class video of it as well!) he’s fine but I got quite scared, Maddie just laughed ahhaha. I would love to meet them again one day!

 

I’m uploading a new post weekly now, every Monday night if anyone cares, not that anyone actually reads this stuff hahahha.

Till next week,

Abby x

4 thoughts on “Meeting YouTubers – My Experience”

  1. I want to go to a Youtube convention so badly! I totally relate to you, I wanted to start a youtube channel but my parents were so against it…so I made a blog instead haha Sorry you weren’t able to get your picture with Casper, but meeting him is still amazing:)

    Danielle
    *Travelers Apprentice*
    http://www.travelersapprentice.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

